of revenue resulting from an oil discharge attributable to a ship and not otherwise recoverable at law. The administrator reports to Parliament through the minister of transport.

Medical Research Council. Established in 1969 and operating under authority of RSC 1970, c.M-9, the council is a departmental Crown corporation of the federal government. It is composed of a president, a vice-president and 20 members. The primary aim of the council is to support and develop research in the health sciences in Canadian universities and affiliated institutions. It reports to Parliament through the minister of national health and welfare.

Merchant Seamen Compensation Board (Merchant Seamen Compensation Board Canada). The board was established by authority of the Merchant Seamen Compensation Act (RSC 1970, c.M-11, as amended) and reports to the minister of labour. The three members are appointed by the Governor-in-Council. The board adjudicates claims for compensation made by injured seamen employed on ships registered in Canada when they are not entitled to worker compensation under any provincial worker compensation act or the Government Employees Compensation Act.

Metric Commission Canada. The commission was established by Metric Commission Order (PC 1971-1146) June 1971. It consists of a full-time chairman and up to 20 part-time commissioners, all appointed by the Governor-in-Council for a term of three years. An executive director acts for the commission in directing the full-time staff.

The commission advises the minister of industry, trade and commerce on conversion to the metric system and assists all sectors to prepare conversion plans and disseminate information. It includes over 100 committees covering all areas of the economy. The staff and 12 steering committees play a co-ordinating role for these sector committees, with the major impetus for conversion coming from the committee members who represent industry, labour, consumer, trade, standards and service associations, governments and other concerned bodies.

Each sector committee develops a conversion plan; after liaison with related sectors, the committee recommends the sector plan to a steering committee for concurrence, and the plan is reviewed and approved by the commission. Both sector plans and national guidelines follow a four-phase program of guideline dates (investigation, planning, scheduling and implementation) to ensure, as far as possible, that programs are phased in and co-ordinated to obtain the benefits of metric conversion with minimal costs.

The steering committees and sector committees monitor the progress of conversion and suggest any necessary modifications to meet changing conditions.

Ministry of State for Science and Technology (Ministry of State Science and Technology Canada). This ministry was established by order-in-council PC 1971-1695 on August 11, 1971, with the primary purpose of formulating and developing policies in relation to federal government activities that affect the development and application of science and technology. It is organized into a government branch, industry branch, university branch and an administrative division, corporate services branch. The minister is also responsible for the Science Council Act and is the Cabinet member to whom the Science Council of Canada reports.

Ministry of State for Urban Affairs (Ministry of State Urban Affairs Canada). The ministry was created in June 1971 in accordance with the Government Organization Act 1970 (SC 1971, c.42). The ministry's objective is to develop appropriate means by which the federal government may beneficially influence the evolution of urbanization in Canada, through the integration of urban policy and objectives with other federal policies, objectives and programs. The ministry fosters co-operative relationships in urban affairs with the provinces and, through them, their municipalities, and with private organizations and the public. Under the direction of the secretary and two assistant secretaries, the ministry is divided into two branches: urban analysis, responsible for initiating research on urbanization and developing federal urban policies and objectives, and ministry operations, responsible for liaison with other levels of government and the public, undertaking special federal urban projects, communications and internal administration.

National Advisory Council on Fitness and Amateur Sport. The council was established in 1961 by the Fitness and Amateur Sport Act (RSC 1970, c.F-25) to advise the minister of national health and welfare on matters relating to fitness and amateur sport. The council advising the minister is an autonomous organization, composed of 30 members appointed by the Governor-in-Council, who represent every Canadian province and territory. Its three committees — fitness, recreation and sport — meet periodically to discuss and examine matters related to their areas of concern. At least twice a year, a general council meeting is held and recommendations to the minister are formulated. The administrative arm for fitness and amateur sports is the fitness and amateur sport branch of the national health and welfare department. Through numerous programs and operations, it is involved in improving the participation of all Canadians in physical recreation and amateur sport as well as supporting Canadian athletes.